Talkin’ Dirty

Posted: December 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

40 ways to increase your runnign speed @http://runningspeed.net

theRunmanRunneth

It’s inevitable, once you’ve been running for awhile, someone is bound to mention these two dirty words.  That’s right, SPEED WORK. The distance runner’s nemesis.

“But”, you say, “I don’t want to run fast, I want to run far.”
“But”, I say, “you do want to run far faster.”
At which point you scrunch your face and flare your nostrils, look down, turn and walk to the line. (Hmmm, is this insight or a flashback?)

I saw a handy dandy training chart once that illustrates the concept:.

The further away from your goal race, the more intensity and less volume on your speed days (shorter repeats).  Right now I’m at the far left on the chart, not even in my 18 week plan. I start with 200 meter repeat’s. You can start with 100’s if it’s new to you, and work your way up to 600’s. I’ll do something like…

View original post 254 more words

Leave a Reply

