Foods to Cure Cold And Flu

Posted: January 11, 2008 in running, Running Injuries

I have been nursing a cold virus and after taking a daily diet of chicken soup am on the mend. When am unwell I prefer trying non medicinal cure before taking any drug.

To fight cold and flu I try the following foods,

1. Lemon and Honey Drink

It is the oldest treatment of cold. I remember the first time my mother administered the lemon and honey drink to me as a tiny boy by my mother. It was the sweetest medicine, I loved it so much that I asked her whether I can drink it daily.

2. Chicken soup

It has been called nature’s penicillin. It helps clear clogged airways.

3. Fluids

If dust is the cause of irritation, clean water will do the cleaning of the throat.

4. Vitamin C sources

We know Carbohydates are energy giving foods and proteins are body building foods. Eat plenty of fruits because vitamins helps to protect the body from illness.  Eat Pineapple, Oranges, bananas and passion fruits.

Comments
  1. John Phoenix says:

    I agree with all of the above but I add –

    Onion soup with extra fresh onion and garlic added. You can use Lipton or a generic brand. These pouches of the soup mix calls for 4 cups of water. I dice half an onion and dice 4 garlic cloves. and bring that to a boil in the 4 cups of water enough to soften them, then add the mix. You may have to add more water if a lot boiled out and reheat till hot but you don’t want the water to over boil the veggies and ruin the nutrients in them. I sip slowly on a cup of this soup 2 to 4 times a day and make sure you eat all the garlic and onion.

    Trust me, if your really sick you wont notice any extra strong onion or garlic taste. This also helps cut down on the natural saltiness of the soup. These help your body fight the infection because they are both loaded with antibacterial properties.

Leave a Reply

