Marion Jones: Right Versus Wrong

Posted: October 11, 2007 in Uncategorized

Marion Jones has finally given the Olympic committee their dues, when she handed back her winners medals from 2000 Sydney Olympic Games. She did a bad thing, but she has repented and asked for our forgiveness. I forgive her.

It was a tearful Marion Jones “I have been dishonest, and you have the right to be angry with me. I have let my family down. I have let my country down, and I have let myself down,” Jones said the news conference. “I recognize that by saying I’m deeply sorry, it might be enough and sufficient to address the pain and hurt that I’ve caused you.”

It was courageous of Marion Jones to finally come clean in a world where athletes continue to proclaim innocence as the evidence mounts up against them, her confession was refreshing. Remember Barry Bonds broke the most coveted record in baseball this year, but no one could quite figure out whether we should celebrate or lament because of the dark shadow of steroid usage looming over his feat.

The consequencenses of sin is hell. Marion Jones will have to accept that her career is finished and her name is eraced from famous history and she now joins the list of infamous men and women of history.

This issue raises moral question, why do we human beings do the wrong thing instead of what is right?. Non of us is an angel but its no excuse to say we are humans every time we do the wrong thing. Before we do anything lets ask ourselves Is this right? Is this Honourable? Is this Acceptable? If your answer to the above is NO. Then dont do it.

Leave a Reply

